Well I can check “REBOUND” off my list…… GRRRR

I looked up rebound and found that one could assume you are…

“psychologically incapable of making reasonable decisions regarding suitable 
partners due to emotional neediness, lingering feelings towards the old partner, 
or unresolved problems from the previous relationship.”

kristen-rebound

THE STRUGGLE IS REAL, FOLKS!

Apparently, I just rebounded…. BOING! BOING! BOING!  Another punch to the gut…  I should have written that on my forehead with a sharpie.

In other words, the rebound relationship is characterized by some or all of the following:

  • Brief period since the breakup or first emotional relationship since the breakup – CHECK

  • Transference of unresolved feelings since the breakup – CHECK

  • Emotional vulnerability, desire to be distracted from pain, belief that one love cures the pain of another, fear of being alone – CHECK

3 out of 3, I like to win but come on!… SHEESH!  Wyatt Earp was right…  another punch to the gut, hmmm, let me see that is 5 to 1, Wyatt is still in the lead on the lessons of brutal honesty…

barbie-punch

My Rebound Relationship Experience

In my own experience, I’ve just involved myself in a “transitional” relationship. In other words, I gradually learned from and distancing myself from destructive traits that my ex possessed, the men I typically attract and the familiarity that I felt in dealing with them.

Not long after I began dating after divorce, I found myself in “puppy love” with a man who could not have been MORE different than my ex.  I was hungry for his attentiveness. I was blissful in his capacity for emotional intimacy. I fell hard and fast, freaked out, and then the relationship slowly dissolved – was heartbroken (thanks to my newly acquired power of numbing, my GIRL POWER is back in check). He is a great guy, everything someone would want in a partner in more ways than one ;o), but our timing was off – I’m just not ready, plain and simple.

girl-power

They say “heartbreak” won’t kill you and you can and will love again after divorce, but vulnerability can certainly encourage distorted judgment.  Still working on my VULNERABILITY theory…. However, I still question if one can really ever love again after divorcing someone they were initially head over heels in love with.  I hear the words coming out of his mouth, but…..

Can the rebound relationship become something solid and endure? It certainly could happen, but I think one would need to take the time necessary to be sure it’s more than momentary magic or a tempting transition.  So slowing down and going to take the time to see if can endure.

In other news….. thinking about becoming blonde again….

img_0566

About Hiding2014-2016

2016 Life is what it is and you just have to get through it. 2014 I started blogging just a short time ago, it actually feels good. I've made some new friends and soliciting feedback from others who have experienced similar life events helps me to not feel so alone. So we all have bumps in the road, we make poor decisions - we are only human. It is these life experiences who make us who we are today. There is no need to have regret, just move forward. Ok, easier said than done, because as you read my profile, sometimes I take a step forward and then two steps back.

Posted on November 17, 2016, in Bad Boys, Bits and pieces, Bullshit, Care, Chuck Taylors, Cool Chicks, Cool girls, Divorce, Divorce Sucks, Health Relationship, Liars, Lies, Love, Marriage Sucks, Mate Selection, My Life Over 40, Nice Guys, Professional Growth for Women??? - 10 Part Series, Rebound, Relationships suck, Shattered, Shot in the butt, Smart Women, Smarty Pants, What women want, WHEEL OF MISFORTUNE...., Whole again. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

