Getting Closer to My MBA

formulas

I only have two more semesters left and I will have officially earned my MBA.  What a feeling, what an accomplishment.  I will be the first person in my family to achieve a master’s degree.  As I start looking at my future, I have begun to interview for positions in Santa Barbara, Portland and Las Vegas.  Unfortunately, Santa Barbara did not work out; as they hired an internal candidate; however, I did receive a very nicely written note from one of my interviewers letting me know that I was their first choice for an external candidate.  That boosted my confidence, as my self-esteem was run over by a mack truck…

photo%20-%20mean%20teacher%20comment%20on%20student%20paper

Not too sure about Vegas and my phone interview for Portland is on Wednesday.  Keeping my fingers crossed for Portland, the opportunity is an AHHH-MAAAZZING one.  For a kid that dropped out of high school because my teachers told me I would never reach any kind of academic success…  Here’s to you!  Not only will I be getting my masters, I will be graduating with honors (AGAIN).

screenshot2013-01-14at11-15-07am

Shifting careers in the middle of your life seems almost impossible, but I am coming to find that my background and schooling are actually giving me an edge against my competition.  I have been blessed to work and be mentored by some of the best executives in this country who provided me with a solid foundation of the world of business.

cap-and-gown-for-graduation

People always ask me, “What Next?  Will you go for your doctorate?”  Honestly, I don’t know what is next.  If I go for my doctorate it will be definitely be in the field I am most passionate about – Sociology.

sociologyt_300

About Hiding2014-2016

2016 Life is what it is and you just have to get through it. 2014 I started blogging just a short time ago, it actually feels good. I've made some new friends and soliciting feedback from others who have experienced similar life events helps me to not feel so alone. So we all have bumps in the road, we make poor decisions - we are only human. It is these life experiences who make us who we are today. There is no need to have regret, just move forward. Ok, easier said than done, because as you read my profile, sometimes I take a step forward and then two steps back.

Posted on October 31, 2016, in Bits and pieces, Care, College, Cool Chicks, Cool girls, MBA, My Life Over 40, Professional Growth for Women??? - 10 Part Series, Smart Women, Smarty Pants. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

