Just Add Water…. Sea-Monkeys

 

th

So I am back from my hiatus and have had my first official weekend being an adult role model to my Lover’s 10 year old daughter.  What a great age, what a great kid, it kind of makes me want to have another.  Whaaa??  Did I just say that out loud?  My son is 21…. Twenty-One, that is 2-1 and now I am considering having another child?  Someone slap me.  

girl-baby-funny-babies-hd-148890

It is amazing how kids can change your life, whether they are your own, your friends or you are put into a situation where you just add water and become an instant pseduo-parent.  

sea-monkeys

This weekend I got to see the world through the eyes of a 10 year old and it has been FUN.  Playing badminton in the house, getting up to 34 hits without dropping the birdie, watching girlie kid movies and tv shows (my how they have changed since I was a kid), feeding baby ducks, playing UNO.

ducks_girlfeeding4261

Going to the grocery store (never knew it could be so fun),  going to Hobby Lobby finding craft projects and having someone who really enjoys doing that kind of stuff (her showing me new and innovative craft ideas with duct tape – yes… duct tape, I am now the proud owner of a duct taped clip board and have duct tape book markers for my textbooks, thank you very much), going to the mall and taking the time to actual shop, give opinions, and look at girlie stuff.  

vector-girls-shopping

The best part is just having “girlie talk” – since boys were primarily in my household for the past 21 years, it really limited the topics (I assure you, they did not want to discuss the prettiest color nail polish).  The oober-bestest part is that she told me she “loved me” when she gave me a great big hug and thanked me.  It made me a little teary, I won’t lie, but it also showed me that in my educational journey that working with kids might be right up my alley.  

love

Why is it that when we find someone we love, that we want to share the most ultimate compliment of having a child with that person?  Is it just my biological clock ticking or is there really something to this?  More self-discovery to come.

baby_overleden_na_verkrachting-2010-01-15_0

 

About Hiding2014-2016

2016 Life is what it is and you just have to get through it. 2014 I started blogging just a short time ago, it actually feels good. I've made some new friends and soliciting feedback from others who have experienced similar life events helps me to not feel so alone. So we all have bumps in the road, we make poor decisions - we are only human. It is these life experiences who make us who we are today. There is no need to have regret, just move forward. Ok, easier said than done, because as you read my profile, sometimes I take a step forward and then two steps back.

Posted on September 1, 2014, in My Life Over 40 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

