Pandora’s Box of Practical Jokes

open_pandora_s_box_for_me_by_mandi7mm-d6o1px4

One should always proceed with EXTREME caution when opening this particular box, especially when it comes to me. Even suggesting to take a peek will blow that box wide open, I assure you, there is no closing it and it will suck you in!

thXDW60RMI

My sweet, sweet dear Lover decided to take a peek and blew the box wide open. I don’t think he realized when he casually joked about showing up at my office in a flight suit, that he flipped the switch and it is ON like Donkey Kong.

2vkkgn4

We have made plans to spend the evening together in the very near future, so I “casually” asked him if he had any Sharpie’s and their location in his home.

blankcanvas

At first he was very helpful in telling me their exact location, in fact, it was such great detail, I couldn’t help but giggle.

beaker-oh-shit

I think he had an epiphany, because he paused in mid-sentence, had an “oh shit” moment, corrected himself and stated that he only had Crayola washable markers. Mu ha ha ha ha ;o)

7b6c1bbc8b0d92c1afd512d29831da0f

One particular practical joke that makes me bend over laughing to this day is one that I played on my ex-husband, Chris. At the time we were only dating and he had come over to my parents house to hang out. I was feeling a little hungry so I was digging through my mom’s pantry and came across a box of Metamucil Cookies. ****WIDE GRIN****

49843552

I opened a few of packages of cookies and placed them neatly on a plate, poured a glass of milk and cheerfully brought them into the living room and presented them to Chris explaining that my mother had tried a new cookie recipe and she wondered if he would try them.

630fdbd33cb596a6fb2051b1237c1f3e

He was ALL too happy to help, finishing off the entire plate.

****CHESSHIRE CAT GRIN****

cheshire-cat-9

For those of you that know me, my ability to self-contain and maintain my composure is almost impossible. He couldn’t help but ask me why I could not stop smiling – which exacerbated my expression into full blown laughter.

5eed4559ba2602674b707e19cf6290be

Needless to say, my mother came into the room and sat down. Chris proceeded to tell her how good her cookies were and she looked confused.

men_confused

The more he tried to explain that he really enjoyed the cookies she made, the more her face looked more and more perplexed. Yes, folks – the “OH SHIT” moment appeared on his face.

beaker-oh-shit

I had to cross my legs because I was laughing so hard that I was literally peeing my pants. He got up, walked into the kitchen, saw the wrappers and screamed “IT IS ON MISSY!” and let’s just say those cookies kicked in about midnight….

il_570xN_112212124

The moral of this story, “be afraid, be very afraid!”

rar

Oh and Lover, I will pack my own Sharpie….

46d590d4003c8706a533e82ad214e4c9-dog-with-eyebrows-looks-smug

 

About Hiding2014-2016

2016 Life is what it is and you just have to get through it. 2014 I started blogging just a short time ago, it actually feels good. I've made some new friends and soliciting feedback from others who have experienced similar life events helps me to not feel so alone. So we all have bumps in the road, we make poor decisions - we are only human. It is these life experiences who make us who we are today. There is no need to have regret, just move forward. Ok, easier said than done, because as you read my profile, sometimes I take a step forward and then two steps back.

Posted on June 30, 2014, in My Life Over 40. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

